NFL Week 9 Preview

Premier Matchup: Chargers @ Redksins

No recap last week, but I have to brag a little about picking the Lions/Cowboys being my Premier Matchup. Can I pick these fucking games or what?

Anyway, not a great week in Week 9. In fact, it might be a little depressing.

On a brighter note, the NBA is back! Meaning the depression brought on by the shitty Bears defense and injury-riddled roster will be replaced by the stagnant Bulls offense and (possibly) soon-to-be-injury-riddled roster.

YAY!

Cardinals, Broncos, Lions, Jaguars, Giants and 49ers on bye this week. Head down below.

  • Bengals @ Dolphins

Remember how I was all like, “Yeah, fuck the Dolphins, they’re being overrated by some media and especially the fans and don’t deserve any credit because the fact that they’re the Dolphins will catch up to them and I would never pick them again”? That’s not changing. Unless they play the Bucs or Jags, these assholes are getting a loss from me.

BENGALS 24 – Dolphins 13

 

  • Chiefs @ Bills

This Chiefs defense is ridiculously good, and there’s no word on who will be the starting quarterback for the Bills this Sunday. They can only hope Thad Lewis can go and try to get something going. It might not matter either way, though.

CHIEFS 23 – Bills 13

 

  • Vikings @ Cowboys

Does it matter anymore who starts at QB for Minnesota?

COWBOYS 27 – Vikings 14

 

  • Titans @ Rams

Kellen Clemens. Enough said? It’s hard for me to say anything about this game. It feels like Titans games just kind of happen. They have a pretty good defense, and have allowed just one passing TD in the last month. I mean, is Clemens really gonna do something, especially with that shitty WR corps?

TITANS 23 – Rams 13

 

  • Saints @ Jets

If it wasn’t because he played for the Jets, I’d actually like Geno Smith. But once you put on that awful shade of green, I can’t help but make you a mortal enemy. Plus, the Saints are awesome. Hard not to like them. I do have to say this, though: Antonio Cromartie has played better than I thought he would. Too bad anybody starting opposite him can get burned for 4 TDs.

SAINTS 30 – Jets 17

 

  • Chargers @ Redskins

This could be a very high-scoring affair. I don’t like the Redskins. At all. I think they’re overrated, and I think I’ve made my point about RGIII enough times. I like the Chargers a lot, though. I like how Mike McCoy and the coaching staff fixed the offense and helped Philip Rivers (who I can’t fucking stand) regain his status as one of the league’s top QBs. Even with their top two WRs out for the year, San Diego has found a way to score points and move the ball consistently. And how about that running game they’re showing off now? I like the Chargers. A lot.

CHARGERS 28 – Redskins 24

 

  • Falcons @ Panthers

This Panthers defense has stepped up a lot from earlier this season. Especially the secondary. With no Julio or Roddy, I don’t see the Falcons being very effective through the air. They’ll have to throw a lot since they have absolutely no rushing attack, but Ryan could struggle with Harry Douglas and fuckin’ Drew Davis out there catching balls. Carolina is on a roll and Cam Newton has been very good these past few games. Gimme the Panthers at home.

PANTHERS 27 – Falcons 20

 

  • Eagles @ Raiders

Man, this one could be really ugly. Three possible outcomes: Raiders win big. Eagles win big. Close, low-scoring game. There’s no way this game ends in a competitive 24-23, 24-21 game. That being said, I don’t think Nick Foles or Matt Barkley are capable of doing anything on this offense. The Raiders have looked like a below-average/decent team this season and against this terrible defense, they should be to move the ball and score some points. Plus, they’re at home.

RAIDERS 27 – Eagles 14

 

  • Buccaneers @ Seahawks

Ugh.

SEAHAWKS 27 – Bucs 10

 

  • Ravens @ Browns

I hate the Ravens in the sense that I don’t like how their team and offense are built. Also I hate Joe Flacco. This is my only “upset” of the week. I don’t like the Browns’ QB situation at all, but I love their defense and I think the Ravens offense is bad enough to lose this game. Being at home will surely help the Browns too.

BROWNS 17 – Ravens 14

 

  • Steelers @ Patriots

I was big on the Steelers going into the season, but man are they bad. The Patriots aren’t a great team this season, either, but they’re better than Pittsburgh by a pretty large margin. That should tell you something about this Steelers team.

PATS 23 – Steelers 17

 

  • Colts @ Texans

No Reggie Wayne is gonna hurt the Colts more than people think. And they already think it will hurt them a lot. Still, the Texans are a bad team. I do think this one will be close and it looks like Arian Foster might be a go after taking on a full workload in practice earlier. I still like Luck to come out with a win in a close game over Case Keenum.

COLTS 27 – Texans 23

 

  • My Chicago Bears @ Packers

No point in going in-depth with this one.

PACKERS 31 – Bears 17

Leave a comment