2014 NBA Playoffs: First-Round Matchups and Predictions

Screenshot_2

So I figured I’d just do the whole thing from the get go just to get my picks out there. I wanted to be a little different just because I’m tired of the Heat winning, and I’m not particularly fond of OKC.

Plus, people look at OKC, San Antonio and Miami as the true contenders, but it’s pretty much been universally agreed upon that the Clips are in there too. And Indiana, but they kinda fucked up the last two months of the season.

I’ll break down the first round and explain my picks from above. As always, head down below.

 

Eastern Conference

Indiana Pacers vs. Atlanta Hawks

It’s the NBAtv matchup! If Al Horford was healthy, this probably wouldn’t even be a matchup. ATL would definitely be higher, but that’s neither here nor there.

As badly as the Pacers have played the last few weeks, they still have a better team all around. Much better team. I think Paul George starts to pick it up offensively, and David West is the veteran on the team, so he knows wassup come playoff time.

Roy Hibbert is the big ass question mark here, so we’ll really just have to wait and see. His rim protection is still the best in the league, but he can’t rebound to save his life, which makes absolutely no sense, and he also can’t score.

Paul Millsap might win one game by himself, but that’s about it.

Indy in 5

 

Miami Heat vs. Charlotte Bobcats

This is actually a semi-decent matchup on paper. Michael Kidd-Gilchrist can kinda I guess somewhat defend LeBron or Wade. Blah blah blah..

Al Jefferson will win one by himself when he completely owns Miami inside and goes for 37 and 22. Actually, he might average that the whole series, but LeBron and co. aren’t going to let anybody else on that team score. Kemba Walker might pull one out too and make it a 6-game series, but he’ll have to go for like 35-11-9 for that to happen.

Miami in 5

 

Toronto Raptors vs. Brooklyn Nets

This one should be fun. OK, maybe not fun, but I definitely think it’ll go 7.

It has all the makings of a seven-game series: division rivals, 3-6 matchup (no evidence that it matters), young up-and-coming “no one believes in us” team against veteran and savvy team. Toronto’s home crowd is going to be intense and I think that’s what’s gonna carry them. I could definitely see an upset, but I like the underdog story.

Also, I don’t give a fuck about this series.

Raps in 7

 

Chicago Bulls vs. Washington Wizards

Am I going to be biased? Yes. But it’s also realistic. I got the Bulls in 6 because I think Wall and Beal will go nuts in their first home game and maybe carry it into the second game. I really see this one going 5, but Chicago struggles to score and it will definitely hurt them at some point.

The one key, though? Carlos Boozer has to turn it up like 40 notches. He needs his offense to keep him in games late, because if this last Bobcats game was any indication, they need a go-to guy in crunch time.

Noah can’t do it all. Although he kinda can. But let’s make it easy on him.

Bulls in 6

 

Western Conference

San Antonio Spurs vs. Dallas Mavericks

I wanted the Mavs to lose their last game against Memphis so this matchup could happen.

While I don’t think the Mavs are going to beat the Spurs, I think they matchup a lot better. And if they do beat them, they have a great shot against either Houston or Portland.

Anyway, this is just a great matchup. Tim Duncan vs. Dirk Nowitzki, Gregg Popovich vs. Rick Carlisle… classic matchup. Ball movement is gonna be key for the Mavs. The Spurs are so sound defensively, that the Mavs will have to keep it moving on offense. The Monta/Dirk pick-and-rolls will be the main weapon as well Dirk post-ups at the top of the key.

The Spurs will move the ball perfectly and get whatever they want when they want it. It’s what they do. Dallas has to step it up defensively or it’s gonna be a short series.

Ultimately, I see it going 6. Dirk’s gonna have those two 36-11 games at home where they squeak out a victory. If they catch fire at the right time, though, I could see an upset.

Spurs in 6

 

Oklahoma City Thunder vs. Memphis Grizzlies

Not gonna spend time on this. Yeah, Memphis has a good defense, but nobody is gonna score. I’m really not trying to hear the whole “Memphis is the team no one wants to play” thing. Maybe it would apply if they were playing another team. Not OKC.

Thunder in 5

 

Los Angeles Clippers vs. Golden State Warriors

Another one I won’t spend a lot of time on. The Warriors were overrated when they were healthy, and without Bogut, they’re definitely gonna be in a bit of trouble.

GSW’s saving grace is that they can shoot the fuck out of that ball. Steph and Klay can and will win them two games. But that’s where it stops. Chris Paul is a good defender and Blake Griffin is the MVP not named Kevin Durant or LeBron James.

DeAndre Jordan will probably average like 17 rebounds this series, and it’s not like the Clips don’t have great shooters too.

Clips in 6

 

Houston Rockets vs. Portland Trail Blazers

I’m tired. I’ll keep this one short too. I initially had this one in six but I can definitely see this going seven. Regardless, Houston wins because of the homecourt advantage.

Howard and Harden can each win two games, and the Blazers don’t exactly play elite defense, especially at the point guard position. Aldridge and Lillard are a nice matchup and can probably somewhat “cancel out” what Howard and Harden, which boils it down to the role players.

Wes Mathews vs. Pat Beverly/Jeremy Lin, Nic Batum vs. Chandler Parsons, Robin Lopez vs. Terrance Jones/Omer Asik?

Shit, this is closer than I thought.

Rox in 7

 

 

Leave a comment